Poppy Flower Monarch butterfly
Aerial photo of U.C.S.B campus point
Bicycles in bike racks

Approved Academic Calendar for 2003-2004

 Approved by Academic Calendar Committee on 1/16/02. Note: Dates subject to change without notice.


Fall 2003 Winter 2004 Spring 2004
Quarter begins September 14, 2003
(Sunday)
January 4, 2004
(Sunday)
March 28, 2004
(Sunday)
Convocation

September 15
(Monday)

   
Pre-instructional activities September 15-19, 2003
(Monday-Friday)
January 4, 2004*
(Sunday)
March 28, 2004*
(Sunday)
Instruction begins September 22, 2003
(Monday)
January 5, 2004
(Monday)
March 29 , 2004
(Monday)
Holidays November 11, 2003
(Tuesday)
November 27-28, 2003
(Thursday-Friday)
January 19, 2004
(Monday)
February 16, 2004
(Monday)
May, 31, 2004
(Monday)
Instruction ends December 3, 2003
(Wednesday)
March 12, 2004
(Friday) 
June 3, 2004
(Thursday)
Study Day December 4, 2003
(Thursday)
March 13, 2004
(Saturday) 
June 4, 2004
(Friday)
Final examinations** December 5-11, 2003
(Friday-Thursday)
March 15-20, 2004
(Monday-Saturday)
June 5-11, 2004
(Saturday-Friday)
Quarter ends December 11, 2003 (Thursday) March 20, 2004
(Saturday)
June 11, 2004
(Friday)
Admin Holiday December 25-26, 2003
(Thursday-Friday)
January 1-2, 2004
(Thursday-Friday)
March 26, 2004
(Friday)
 
Commencement     June 12-13  2004
(Saturday-Sunday)
# Mondays 11 8 9
Days of instruction 50 48 48
Total days of instruction: 146

* Quarter has a minimum of 48 days of instruction; no allowance for a weekday of pre-instructional activity.
** Finals schedule shortened by one day beginning 2002-2003.

Holidays: 2003-2004

  • Labor Day: Monday, September 1, 2003
  • Veterans' Day: Tuesday, November 11, 2003
  • Thanksgiving: Thursday and Friday, November 27 and 28, 2003
  • Christmas: Thursday and Friday, December 25 and 26, 2003
  • New Year: Thursday and Friday, January 1 and 2, 2004
  • Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday: Monday, January 19, 2004
  • Presidents' Day: Monday, February 16, 2004
  • Cesar Chavez Holiday: Friday, March 26, 2004
  • Memorial Day: Monday, May 31, 2004
  • Independence Day: Monday, July 5, 2004